CHEO Logo
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text SizeFacebookTwitterYoutube

Banner
decorative image 

Biographical Notes

Alex Munter

President and Chief Executive OfficerImage of smiling man in suit standing outside

Alex Munter is President and Chief Executive Officer, bringing to the role more than 20 years of leadership in health and social services and an incredible commitment to helping families in our community.

Alex is leading the hospital into the future as it faces new challenges and takes advantage of new opportunities to build an exceptional patient experience and better connect care for the patients and families we serve.

 Under Alex’s leadership, the hospital completed the most comprehensive strategic review in its 40-year history, setting for itself a new vision for the future of healthcare in this community,
and an action plan to get there.   The hospital has prioritized a number of backbone initiatives that will underpin this work, including the deployment of an integrated electronic health record, the roll out of Lean processes to drive continuous improvement and a refresh of its talent management strategy.

In 2012, Alex served as co-chair of Ontario’s Health Kids Panel along with Kelly Murumets, President and Chief Executive Officer of ParticipACTION. The final report recommended starting kids on the right path from conception to birth, changing the food environment, and creating healthier communities.

Prior to joining CHEO Alex was Chief Executive Officer of the Champlain Local Health Integration Network (LHIN) -- the provincial government agency responsible for planning, integrating and funding health services in the region. He strengthened the region’s health system by making strategic investments at hospitals and community-based agencies in both urban and rural areas of our region. In particular, he made great strides in improving care for the elderly by putting in place programs that help vulnerable seniors stay independent and healthy for as long as possible in their own homes. 

Prior to joining the LHIN, Alex was Executive Director of the Youth Services Bureau (YSB), one of Ontario’s largest accredited children's mental health agencies. During his tenure, the organization grew by one-third, adding services and expanding its reach. It won recognition for a ground-breaking new health clinic for street-involved youth, the establishment of a youth mental health hub and launch of innovative new clinical mental health programs, closer co-ordination between hospitals and community mental health providers, new programs to help at-risk youth find and keep jobs and new measures to improve the agency’s governance, efficiency and service quality. From 2004 to 2010, Alex also taught in French and English at the University of Ottawa as a Visiting Professor in its Faculty of Social Sciences.

Alex was a City and Regional Councillor in Ottawa from 1991 to 2003. From 1997 onward, he headed council committees responsible for health and social services with oversight of the city’s $550 million human services budget. In that role, he led Council to unanimously adopt pioneering smoke-free regulations in 2001; helped open new child care centers, expand the number of child care spaces, and expand public health programs for children and youth; worked with provincial government to oversee the transfer of ambulance services and social housing to the municipal level; initiated Canada's first comprehensive public access defibrillator program; expanded long-term care for seniors; funded hospital expansions and worked with the Community Care Access Centre and community support agencies to improve at-home support services for seniors and people with disabilities. While serving as a Councillor, Alex obtained a Bachelor of Social Sciences (magna cum laude) from the University of Ottawa. After leaving city council, he became a Visiting Professor in the School of Political Studies at the University of Ottawa, teaching there and at Montreal’s Concordia University. He holds a professional designation as a Certified Health Executive (CHE) from the Canadian College of Health Leaders.

Alex was very involved in the restructuring of hospital and other health services as a member of the former Ottawa-Carleton District Health Council in the 1990’s. Other health-planning leadership roles included his assignment as Co-Chair of the Regional Task Force on Health Care (1998-1999), member of the board for the Ottawa-Carleton Children's Aid Society (1997-2000), Co-Chair of the National Network on Ethnocultural Communities and AIDS (1990-91), member of the Ontario Advisory Council on Multiculturalism (1992-94), Board Member of the Community Foundation of Ottawa (2004-2006), and appointment to the Ontario Public Health Capacity Review Committee and chair of its governance panel (2005-2006).

Alex has won numerous awards from a wide range of organizations for his contributions to the community, including the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, the Canadian Institute for Child Health, United Way/Centraide Ottawa, the Federal Business Development Bank, l’Association Canadienne-Française de l’Ontario d’Ottawa, Leadership Ottawa and the Ontario Association of Social Workers.Alex has also been awarded the Ontario Volunteer Service Award in the 1990's and most recently in 2012, he was awarded the Ontario Francophonie Award and the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal.

Take Action
Quick Links

Programs & Health Info
magnifying glass

abcefg hijklmnopqrst uvwxyz
 
Zoomed image Close

CHEO Logo
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text SizeFacebookTwitterYoutube

Banner
image décoratif

Notes bibliographiques

Alex Munter

Président-directeur généralimage d'Alex Munter, président-directeur général du CHEO

Alex Munter est le Président-directeur général. Il y apporte plus de 20 ans d’expérience en leadership dans les domaines de la santé et des services sociaux et une passion hors du commun pour aider les familles de notre collectivité.

Alex tient le gouvernail de l’Hôpital d’une main assurée devant les temps orageux qui s’annoncent, et il saisit toutes les occasions de fournir aux patients et à leurs familles une expérience exceptionnelle et des soins interreliés.

Alex a dirigé l’examen stratégique le plus approfondi que l’Hôpital ait subi de ses 40 ans d’histoire. Il en est ressorti une vision toute nouvelle sur les soins que l’Hôpital prodigue à la collectivité ainsi qu’un plan d’action pour la réaliser. L’Hôpital vise en priorité plusieurs initiatives fondamentales pour soutenir ce plan, telles que la mise sur pied d’un dossier de santé électronique intégré, la mise en œuvre de processus de gestion allégée (la méthode LEAN) et une mise à jour de la stratégie de gestion des talents.

En 2012, Alex a coprésidé le Comité d’experts pour la santé des enfants du MSSLD avec la présidente-directrice générale de ParticipACTION, Mme Kelly Murumets. Dans son rapport final, le Comité a recommandé que l’on mette les enfants sur le bon chemin dès leur naissance en modifiant l’alimentation de toute la collectivité dans laquelle ils grandissent afin d’améliorer la santé de tous.

Avant de se joindre au CHEO, Alex a œuvré en tant que Président-directeur général du Réseau local d’intégration des services de santé (RLISS), l’organisme gouvernemental provincial qui voit à la planification, l’intégration et le financement des services de santé dans la région. À ce titre, il a renforcé le système de santé de la région par le biais d’investissements stratégiques dans les hôpitaux et les organismes communautaires à la fois en régions urbaines et rurales. Plus spécifiquement, Alex a vu à l’amélioration de la santé des aînés en mettant en place des programmes qui aident les personnes âgées vulnérables à rester indépendantes et en santé aussi longtemps que possible dans leur propre domicile.

Auparavant, Alex avait été le PDG du Bureau des services à la jeunesse (BSJ), l’un des plus grands fournisseurs de soins en santé mentale pour les enfants et les adolescents en Ontario. Sous sa direction, l’organisme a grandi d’un tiers et a incorporé de nouveaux services ou en a étendu l’influence d’autres. Parmi ses grandes réalisations, on compte l’ouverture d’une nouvelle clinique destinée à voir à la santé des jeunes de la rue, l’établissement d’un carrefour de santé mentale pour les jeunes, le lancement de nouveaux programmes cliniques en santé mentale, une coordination accrue entre les hôpitaux et les fournisseurs de santé mentale communautaire, de nouveaux programmes pour aider les jeunes à risque à trouver et garder un emploi et de nouvelles mesures pour améliorer la gouvernance, l’efficacité et la qualité des services offerts par l’organisme. De 2004 à 2010, Alex a aussi enseigné le français et l’anglais à l’Université d’Ottawa en tant que professeur invité à la faculté des sciences sociales.

Il a aussi fait office de conseiller municipal et régional à Ottawa de 1991 à 2003. À partir de 1997, il a dirigé les comités du Conseil qui avaient la responsabilité d’un budget de 550 millions de dollars. En tant que tel, il a amené le Conseil à adopter à l’unanimité les règlements anti-tabac d’avant-garde de 2001, aidé à ouvrir de nouvelles garderies, augmenté le nombre de places de garderie et a accru les programmes de santé publique pour les enfants et les adolescents. Il a collaboré avec le gouvernement provincial pour voir au transfert des services ambulanciers et du logement social au niveau municipal, lancé le premier programme complet d’accès public aux défibrillateurs au Canada, accru les soins à long terme pour les aînés, financé les expansions des hôpitaux et a collaboré avec le Centre d’accès aux soins communautaires et autres organismes de soutien communautaire pour améliorer les services de soutien à domicile des aînés et des personnes souffrant d’incapacité. Tout en assumant ses fonctions de conseiller municipal, Alex a suivi le programme de sciences sociales à l’Université d’Ottawa dont il a obtenu son baccalauréat magna cum laude. Lorsqu’il a quitté le Conseil municipal, il a accepté une chaire de professeur invité en sciences politiques à l’Université d’Ottawa. Il a aussi enseigné à l’Université Concordia de Montréal. Il détient le titre de membre certifié (Certified Health Executive, CHE) du Collège canadien des leaders en santé.

Dans les années quatre-vingt dix, Alex s’est trouvé aussi grandement impliqué dans la restructuration des hôpitaux et d’autres services de santé en tant que membre du défunt Conseil régional de santé du district d’Ottawa-Carleton. Ses autres rôles de leadership en matière de planification des soins de santé incluent sa nomination comme co-président du Groupe de travail régional sur les soins de santé (1998-1999), sa membriété au Conseil d’administration de la Société de l’aide à l’enfance d’Ottawa-Carleton (1997-2000), sa co-présidence du Réseau national des communautés ethnoculturelles et du SIDA (1990-91), sa membriété au Comité consultatif de l’Ontario sur le multiculturalisme (1992-94), sa membriété à la Fondation communautaire d’Ottawa (2004-2006), sa nomination au Comité d’examen de la capacité d’intervention en santé publique de l’Ontario et la présidence de son Comité de gouvernance (2005-2006).

Alex a été reconnu pour sa contribution à la collectivité par de nombreux organismes tels que le Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale, l’Institut canadien de la santé infantile, United Way/Centraide Ottawa, la Banque de développement du Canada, l’Association canadienne-française de l’Ontario d’Ottawa, Leadership Ottawa et l’Association des travailleuses et travailleurs sociaux de l’Ontario. Alex a reçu une Distinction de l’Ontario pour services bénévoles pendant les années 1990. Plus récemment en 2012, il a été lauréat du Prix de la Francophonie de l’Ontario et il a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II.

Impliquez-vous
Liens rapides

Programmes et info santé
magnifying glass

abcefg hijklmnopqrst uvwxyz
 
Zoomed image Close