CHEO Logo
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text SizeFacebookTwitterYoutube

Banner
image of a baby's face with text "planning your visit"

Searching for Restricted Items

Keeping everyone at CHEO safe

PDF iconDownload a printable PDF version of this information

What is a restricted items search?

There are times when we need to check patients for things that could cause harm to themselves or others. We do this when we feel a search is needed, to keep everyone at CHEO safe. Restricted items can be any personal belonging that could harm a patient or someone else.

What are some reasons for a search?

It is important that CHEO is a safe place for our patients, visitors and staff. We’ll search a patient when we feel this is needed to maintain a safe place for care. Here are some examples of when a search is needed:

  • A patient says she intends to harm herself or others;
  • A patient makes a serious attempt to harm himself or others;
  • A patient has harmed herself recently;
  • A patient has tried to bring restricted or illegal items into the hospital before;
  • A patient or reliable person (like a parent, caregiver, friend or another patient) tells us that the patient has hidden a restricted item in his room.

Who will perform the search?

A Regulated Professional, Child and Youth Counsellor, Crisis Intervention Worker or Security staff person who has been trained on the search policy and procedure will do the search. We will respect patients’ gender preference.

Where will the search happen?

We must search patients in each area of CHEO where the patient arrives for care. This means patients are searched between units and departments within CHEO. We’ll always use a private room when searching clothing or belongings, so others won’t be able to see.

What is involved in a search?

There are 6 different types of searches that help reduce risk of harm. These include searching personal belongings, clothing, or a patient’s room. During a search, we’re trying to find and remove restricted items that could harm a patient or someone else.

Is consent needed? What if I refuse?

Yes. Verbal consent is required for a search. If verbal consent is refused, the Most Responsible Physician (MRP) and Regulated Professional familiar with the patient will decide together what the next steps should be. They’ll consider the patient’s condition and the risk to staff and others.

Are police ever involved? Are there any enforced searches?

We’ll contact Security if we suspect a patient has weapons or drugs, or if we find these during a search. We’ll then work with our Security staff to decide if we need to call the police.

What happens to any belongings that are removed? How do we get them back?

It depends on whether the items are illegal or not. If we find illegal items during a search, we follow Canadian Laws (Canada’s Criminal Code).

We hand any illegal items we find over to our Security Department. Security staff then remove any information that can identify a patient, and will turn the items over to police.

If we find restricted items which are not illegal, we’ll either throw them away, or give then to a parent or caregiver to take home. We can also store these items in the unit’s secure location until discharge. We return these items when patients are discharged.

How do I find out more about this?

Your nurse or doctor can answer questions and give you more information.

Who can I talk to if I disagree with the search?

CHEO’s Patient/Family Representative is here for you. Call: 613-737-7600 extension 3078 or Email: jones@cheo.on.ca

Take Action
Quick Links

Programs & Health Info
magnifying glass

Letter aLetter bLetter cLetter eLetter fLetter g Letter hLetter iLetter jLetter kLetter lLetter mLetter nLetter oLetter pLetter qLetter rLetter sLetter t Letter uLetter vLetter wLetter xLetter yLetter z
 
Zoomed image Close

CHEO Logo
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text SizeFacebookTwitterYoutubeInstagramLinkedIn

Banner
image decoratif

Recherches d’objets potentiellement dangereux

Pour notre sécurité à tous au CHEO

image PDFTéléchargez cette information en format PDF

Qu’est ce qu’une recherche d’objets potentiellement dangereux?

Nous sommes parfois obligés de vérifier si des patients apportent des objets avec lesquels ils peuvent se faire du mal ou blesser quelqu’un. Nous effectuons ces vérifications quand nous pensons qu’elles sont nécessaires pour assurer notre sécurité à tous au CHEO. Ces objets sont soumis à une restriction parce qu’ils risquent de faire du mal à des patients ou à d’autres personnes.

Pour quelles raisons effectuons-nous des fouilles?

Le CHEO doit être un endroit où les patients, les visiteurs et les employés se sentent en sécurité en tout temps. Nousvérifions les possessions d’un ou d’une patiente quand nous pensons devoir le faire pour la sécurité de tous. Voici quelques situations qui nous incitent à effectuer ces fouilles :

  • Un ou une patiente déclare vouloir se blesser ou faire du mal à quelqu’un d’autre;
  • Un ou une patiente tente sérieusement de se faire du mal ou de blesser quelqu’un d’autre;
  • Un ou une patiente s’est récemment fait du mal;
  • Un ou une patiente a déjà essayé d’apporter à l’hôpital des objets illicites ou soumis à une restriction;
  • Un ou une patiente ─ ou une personne fiable comme un parent, un tuteur, un ami ou un autre patient ─ nous dit que ce ou cette patiente a caché un objet soumis à une restriction dans sa chambre.

Qui effectuera ces fouilles?

Un professionnel certifié, un technicien ou une technicienne en éducation spécialisée, un ou une intervenante en situation de crise ou un employé de la sécurité formé(e) sur la politique et sur les pratiques de fouille effectue la fouille. Nous respectons les préférences sexospécifiques des patients.

Où ces fouilles auront-elles lieu?

Nous devons fouiller les patients dans la section du CHEO où ils viennent recevoir des soins, c’est à dire dans les unités et dans les services du CHEO. Nous fouillons toujours les vêtements et les possessions des patients dans une chambre spéciale pour que les autres patients ne les voient pas.

En quoi consistent ces fouilles?

Il y a 6 types de fouilles qui visent à réduire les risques de blessures. On vérifie les possessions, les vêtements ou la chambre des patients visés. Pendant ces fouilles, nous cherchons tous les objets soumis à une restriction qui pourraient faire du mal à des patients ou à d’autres personnes, et nous les emportons.

Avez-vous besoin de mon consentement? Et si je refuse?

Oui. Nous devons obtenir un consentement verbal pour effectuer une fouille. Si le ou la patiente refuse de donner son consentement, le médecin responsable et un professionnel certifié qui connaissent le ou la patiente décideront des mesures à prendre. Ils tiendront compte de l’état de santé du ou de la patiente et des risques que posent les objets en question pour les employés et pour d’autres personnes.

Appelle-t-on parfois la police pour faire des perquisitions? Y a-t-il des fouilles obligatoires?

Si nous soupçonnons qu’un ou une patiente possède une arme ou de la drogue, ou si nous en trouvons pendant une fouille, nous appellerons nos employés de la Sécurité, qui décideront s’il est nécessaire ou non d’appeler la police.

Que faites-vous des objets que vous emportez? Nous les rendrez-vous?

Cela dépendra si ces objets sont illicites ou non. Si nous trouvons des articles illicites au cours d’une fouille, nous observons les lois canadiennes (le Code criminel du Canada).

Nous remettons à notre Service de la sécurité tous les objets illicites que nous trouvons. Les employés de la Sécurité en retirent tous les renseignements qui pourraient identifier le ou la patiente et remettent les objets à la police.

Si nous trouvons des objets soumis à une restriction, mais pas illicites, nous les jetons, ou alors nous les remettons à un parent ou à un tuteur. Nous pouvons aussi entreposer ces objets en un endroit sûr jusqu’au congé du ou de la patiente. Nous les rendons aux patients quand ils quittent l’hôpital.

À qui demander d’autres renseignements?

Le personnel infirmier et les médecins pourront répondre à vos questions et vous donner plus de renseignements.

À qui m’adresser pour contester une fouille?

La représentante des patients et des familles du CHEO est à votre disposition pour vous aider, au 613 737 7600, poste 3078 ou à jones@cheo.on.ca

Impliquez-vous
Liens rapides

Programmes et info santé
magnifying glass

Letter aLetter bLetter cLetter eLetter fLetter g Letter hLetter iLetter jLetter kLetter lLetter mLetter nLetter oLetter pLetter qLetter rLetter sLetter t Letter uLetter vLetter wLetter xLetter yLetter z
 
Zoomed image Close